I am a free woman

I am at this point in my new adventure where I have to think about shifting my mind and putting aside all these wrong ideas about independence.

See… I finished my time with Apple. My last day was Friday. Which means, from now on, I won’t receive a salary. Even the unemployment agency won’t help as I never worked in France before. I need to have worked at least a day in order to receive any indemnity. Which I haven’t done. And I don’t want to work any job just to get it.

I always looked out for myself. I am what we call an independent woman. I have been working as soon as I could. Aside my studies first, then as anybody, to earn my part that allowed me to get a roof over my head, food in my fridge, pay for different services and buy all the little things that kind of made me happy.

That was my idea of independence: earning my own money so I don’t have to ask anyone for anything. I don’t want to have to turn to anyone in order to buy myself what I want.

But… I was wrong. I wasn’t independent. I was relying on the job, the company I was working for. Providing them my time, my energy, all that in order to get money and be the unrestrained woman I thought I was. Which is ridiculous. I rely on others to get in my purse what I trade with my sweat, my life resources.

So, as I found myself a partner. It is time to trust. I guess, finally, everything was about that. About finding someone I trust enough in order to not feel constrained or restrained by letting him getting the money while I’m taking a leap of faith in building a business and a name for myself. Because after all, when all this will happen, because it is just a matter of time, I’ll share everything with him. We are partners.

It is new for me and really tough. I am so happy I can count on him in helping me reaching my full potential. It is scary as hell, but at the same time, so exciting. So hail to this new life! Let’s see what it brings, shall we?

One thought on “I am a free woman

Leave a comment